Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh, the 'Rice Bowl of India' is one of the 29 states of India, situated on the country's southeastern coast. It is India's fourth largest state by area and fifth largest by population. Its capital and largest city is Hyderabad. Andhra Pradesh lies between 12°41' and 22°N latitude and 77° and 84°40'E longitude, and is bordered by Chhattisgarh and Orissa in the north, the Bay of Bengal in the east, Tamil Nadu to the south and Telangana, Karnataka to the west.

Andhra Pradesh often ranks first among Domestic Tourist Arrivals in India.

Two major rivers, the Godavari and the Krishna, run across the state. The small enclave (30 square kilometres (12 sq mi)) of Yanam, a district of Pondicherry, lies in the Godavari delta in the northeast of the state. The state is organized into three united regions: Telangana, Coastal Andhra, and Rayalaseema. The state's most populous cities are Hyderabad, Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Guntur and Tirupati (city).

The primary official language of Andhra Pradesh is Telugu and the co-official language is Urdu. Other languages often spoken in the state include Hindi, Marathi, Tamil, Kannada and Oriya.

On 1 November 1956, the States Reorganization Act formed Andhra Pradesh by merging Telugu-speaking areas of Andhra State with the already existing Hyderabad State . The Marathi speaking areas of Hyderabad State merged with Bombay State and Kannada speaking areas were merged with Mysore State.

On June 2nd, 2014, 10 districts of Andhra Pardesh state were separated to form a new State namely Telangana, which now lies to the west of Andhra Pradesh. However, Hyderabad currently remains the common capital for both the states.